Te Kūwaha key contacts

Contacts for our Te Kūwaha science centre.

Real name: 
Mr
Marino
Tahi
Position: 
Manager - Maori Strategy and Engagement
Phone: 
+64-7-856-1793
Email (displayed): 
Marino.Tahi@niwa.co.nz
Marino Tahi joined the NIWA Science Management team in 2015. He came to NIWA from Landcare Research where he was Māori Partnerships Manager since 2006. He leads NIWA’s endeavours to maximise the transfer of natural resources and environmental science knowledge to Māori entities and communities, leading Te Kūwaha and working across NIWA sta to achieve this. His tribal affiliations are Ngāi Tūhoe, and he comes from Ruatahuna, a small settlement in Te Urewera.
Real name: 
Dr
Erica
Williams
Position: 
Scientist - Māori Environmental Research (Te Kūwaha)
Phone: 
+64-4-386-0366
Email (displayed): 
Erica.Williams@niwa.co.nz
Erica (Te Arawa, Ngāti Whakaue, Ngāti Pikiao, Te Whānau ā Apanui) started at NIWA in 1995. After completing a MSc (University of Waikato) developing a blue mussel embryo-larval toxicity test, she spent a number of years in the NIWA freshwater fisheries team. Here she gained skills in fish population studies, the downstream migration adult eels and fish passage through culverts. Her PhD (University of Auckland) investigated the effects of a group of contaminants called polycyclic aromatic hydrocarbons (PAHs) on shellfish. She is currently working on a wide range of projects spanning both the marine and freshwater environments within the National Centre of Māori Environmental Research.      
Real name: 
Mr
Darren
King
Position: 
Environmental Scientist
Phone: 
+64-9-375-2086
Email (displayed): 
Darren.King@niwa.co.nz
Darren King (links to Ngāti Raukawa) is an interdisciplinary research scientist with experience spanning the earth and human-systems sciences.His principal areas of research include (i) Climate and Māori society – investigating the linkages between human and biophysical systems including the factors that influence the risk, vulnerability and resilience of climate-sensitive Māori sectors, systems and groups; and, (ii) Palaeotsunami reconstruction – assessing tsunami disturbance, recurrence and risk along New Zealand’s coast using grounded approaches in applied geology and indigenous (Māori) studies.
Real name: 
Mr
Chris
Mckenzie
Position: 
Pou Hononga - Maori Economy
Phone: 
+64-4-386-0486
Email (displayed): 
Chris.Mckenzie@niwa.co.nz
Chris Mckenzie joined NIWA in March 2016 as Pou Hononga – Maori Economy. Chris most recently worked as Senior Ministerial Advisor and was the chair and lead negotiator for his iwi Ngāti Raukawa. Chris’s role is to support the interface between NIWA and Māori with a particular focus on supporting the utilisation of NIWA science to grow the Māori economy.
Miss
Darcel
Rickard
Position: 
Environmental Research/Science Communication
Phone: 
+64-7-859-1869
Email (displayed): 
Darcel.Rickard@niwa.co.nz
Darcel Rickard (Ngāti Koata, Tainui-a-whiro, Ngāti Porou) is an early career researcher who joined NIWA in February 2016 in a hybrid science communication/environmental researcher role. Darcel has a background in environmental monitoring and management, however her real passion lies in the communication and engagement of rangatahi, whanau and hapu in science. Darcel leads the science communication and outreach programme for NIWAs National Centre of Māori Environmental Research (Te Kūwaha) within which NIWA aims to promote the science impact and value-add capabilities of the research that our Māori researchers do with hapu, iwi and Maori communities throughout Aotearoa. The programme also looks to increasing Māori science capacity and capability with whanau, hapu and Māori communities.

Full Staff List

Position Email Phone (external)
Ms Alison Bartley Office Administrator Alison.Bartley@niwa.co.nz +64-7-859-1808
Mr Mark Bojesen-Trepka Manager, Marketing and Industry Engagement Mark.Bojesen-Trepka@niwa.co.nz +64-7-856-1765
Dr Bryce Cooper General Manager - Strategy Bryce.Cooper@niwa.co.nz +64-7-856-1779
Dr Shannan Crow Freshwater Fish Ecologist Shannan.Crow@niwa.co.nz +64-3-343-7868
OT Mandy Home Maori Development Advisor Mandy.Home@niwa.co.nz +64-3-343-7876
Mr Weno Iti Maori Development Manager Weno.Iti@niwa.co.nz +64-7-859-1840
Mr Darren King Environmental Scientist Darren.King@niwa.co.nz +64-9-375-2086
Miss Kelly May Scientist - Māori Environmental Research (Te Kūwaha) Kelly.May@niwa.co.nz +64-4-386-0361
Mr John Morgan Chief Executive John.Morgan@niwa.co.nz +64-9-375-2040
Miss Darcel Rickard Environmental Research/Science Communication Darcel.Rickard@niwa.co.nz +64-7-859-1869
Mr Apanui Skipper Maori Development Manager Apanui.Skipper@niwa.co.nz +64-7-859-1822
Mrs Aarti Wadhwa Graphics and Desktop Publisher Aarti.Wadhwa@niwa.co.nz +64-7-859-1811
Dr Erica Williams Scientist - Māori Environmental Research (Te Kūwaha) Erica.Williams@niwa.co.nz +64-4-386-0366