Freshwater and Estuaries key contacts

Contacts for our freshwater and estuaries services.

Position: 
Manager - Freshwater Research
Phone: 
+64-3-343-7834
Email: 
Scott.Larned@niwa.co.nz
Scott is an ecosystems ecologist (PhD University of Hawaii). His research generally focuses on effects of land and water use on biological communities, ecosystem processes and water quality.  This research has been carried out in rivers, estuaries, coral reefs, lakes, aquifers, open ocean and riparian forests.  Current research areas include river ecohydrology, water quality analysis and tools for assessing land-use effects. Scott worked in California, Hawaii and Oregon before coming to NIWA in 2001. He is Manager - Freshwater Research in NIWA's National Freshwater and Estuaries Centre, and leads the Land-Use Suitability Programme in the Our Land and Water National Science Challenge.
Position: 
Hydrologist
Phone: 
+64-3-343-7879
Email: 
Christian.Zammit@niwa.co.nz
Christian is a hydrologist with a MSc in small scale hydrology (University Joseph Fourier- France) and PhD in Soil Physics (University Joseph Fourier- France). His research interests include developing improved methods for making hydrological predictions in ungauged catchments, understanding the spatial variability in hydrological response through measurement, conceptualisation and modelling of surface water and groundwater flow across landscape and temporal scales, snow hydrology and uncertainty quantification in decision making process in watrer resource and weather related hazard. 
Position: 
Principal Scientist - Freshwater Ecology
Phone: 
+64-7-856-1796
Email: 
Paul.Champion@niwa.co.nz
Paul holds a BSc Hons from Leicester University and an MSc in biological sciences from the University of Waikato and has a background in wetland and aquatic plant ecology. He specialises in freshwater biosecurity, especially risk assessment, developing strategies for the prevention of aquatic weed spread and protection of unimpacted water bodies, and designing and implementing eradication programmes for aquatic weeds. He works closely with a wide range of central and regional authorities in the field of biosecurity. He is also author/co-author of three books on the identification of common weeds, grasses, sedges, rushes and weed seeds in New Zealand. He also has experience in wetland ecology and conservation needs and management plans for nationally endangered aquatic and wetland plants. Paul joined NIWA in 1994 and was appointed Programme Leader – Freshwater Biosecurity in July 2015. He has been a Principal Scientist – Freshwater Ecology since 2004. He previously worked with the Ministry of Agriculture and Forestry coordinating eradication programmes for nationally important weeds.
Position: 
Aquatic Biogeochemist
Phone: 
+64-7-856-1776
Email: 
Fleur.Matheson@niwa.co.nz
Fleur is an aquatic biogeochemist with a MSc (Hons) in Biology and Environmental Planning from University of Waikato and a PhD in Physical Geography from Durham University, UK. She leads NIWAs Aquatic Rehabilitation and Protection research programme. Fleur joined NIWA’s aquatic plants group in 2002. She has a wide network of science and stakeholder relationships and she coordinated NIWA’s Envirolink research from 2014 to 2016. From 2010 to 2016 she led work to update the New Zealand instream plant and nutrient guidelines for Regional Councils. Her current research interests include evaluating the effectiveness of targeted riparian buffers, riparian shade effects on instream plants, aquatic plant ecology and management, seagrass restoration and seagrass responses to sediment impacts in estuaries. She is a founding member of the Australasian Seagrass Restoration Network.  
Position: 
Principal Scientist - Catchment Processes
Phone: 
+64-7-859-1839
Email: 
Sandy.Elliott@niwa.co.nz
Sandy Elliott applies mathematical techniques to address water quality issues, especially predicting the effects of diffuse pollution and its control at catchment scale. His background spans from experimental work on transport process in flumes and on hillslopes, to delivering national-scale catchment modelling software, and from urban areas to the coastal impacts. He has developed and modified several catchment models for water quality and applied these in a wide range of settings in New Zealand. His current interests include techniques for shifting across spatial and temporal prediction scales and providing practical catchment models suitable for managing water quality limits.
Position: 
Principal Scientist - River and Coastal Geomorphology
Phone: 
+64-3-343-7872
Email: 
Murray.Hicks@niwa.co.nz
Murray specialises in sediment transport and related geomorphic processes in rivers and on coasts. He has a BSc Hons in geology, a BE Hons in civil engineering and a PhD focussing on coastal processes from the University of California. His research interests include river sediment loads and delivery to the coast, organic carbon yields of rivers, braided river processes, gravel coasts, morphodynamic modelling of rivers and shorelines, and using airborne LiDAR and other remote-sensing technologies for measuring river and coastal morphologic change. His current research focuses on the downstream impacts of dams and flow diversions on river morphology and coastal stability. He is also a Group Manager. 
Position: 
Coastal and Estuarine Physical Processes Scientist
Phone: 
+64-7-856-1761
Email: 
Andrew.Swales@niwa.co.nz
Andrew specialises in estuarine sedimentology and sediment processes. He has a BSc and MSc (1st Class Hons) from the University of Auckland.His current research interests include the tracing of sources and fate of terrigenous sediments in estuaries. Recent projects include reconstruction of environmental changes using compound specific stable isotope and radioisotope techniques, investigating human impacts on estuarine sedimentation regimes, predicting effects of fine suspended sediments and dissolved substances on estuarine water clarity, and the biophysical processes and feedbacks driving mangrove-forest ecology and biogeomorphic evolution. Andrew applies techniques and understanding gained from research to assist regional councils with integrated catchment-estuary management.

Full Staff List

Position Email Phone (external)
Anathea Albert Enviromental Chemistry and Toxicology Technician Anathea.Albert@niwa.co.nz +64-7-856-1723
Jade Arnold Hydrodynamics Technician Jade.Arnold@niwa.co.nz +64-3-343-7852
Dr Cindy Baker Principal Scientist - Freshwater Fish Cindy.Baker@niwa.co.nz +64-7-856-1774
Jochen Bind Hydrodynamics and GIS Technician Jochen.Bind@niwa.co.nz +64-3-343-8021
Dr Doug Booker Hydro-ecological Modeller Doug.Booker@niwa.co.nz +64-3-343-7848
David Bremner Coastal and Estuarine Physical Processes Technician David.Bremner@niwa.co.nz +64-7-859-1856
Helen Brider Algal Ecology Technician Helen.Brider@niwa.co.nz +64-7-859-1878
Dr Michael Bruce Assistant Regional Manager - Auckland Michael.Bruce@niwa.co.nz +64-9-375-4539
Rod Budd Principal Technician - Coastal and Estuarine Physical Processes Rod.Budd@niwa.co.nz +64-7-856-1718
Tracey Burton Freshwater Ecologist Tracey.Burton@niwa.co.nz +64-7-859-1852
Dr Céline Cattoën-Gilbert Hydrological Forecasting Scientist Celine.Cattoen-Gilbert@niwa.co.nz +64-3-341-2849
Paul Champion Principal Scientist - Freshwater Ecology Paul.Champion@niwa.co.nz +64-7-856-1796
Dr Sue Clearwater Ecotoxicology Scientist Sue.Clearwater@niwa.co.nz +64-7-859-1835
Dr Daniel Collins Hydrologist Daniel.Collins@niwa.co.nz +64-3-343-8033
Kerry Costley Water Quality Technician Kerry.Costley@niwa.co.nz +64-7-856-1780
Dr Rupert Craggs Principal Scientist - Aquatic Pollution Rupert.Craggs@niwa.co.nz +64-7-859-1807
Glenys Croker Freshwater Ecology Technician Glenys.Croker@niwa.co.nz +64-7-856-1717
Dr Shannan Crow Freshwater Fish Ecologist Shannan.Crow@niwa.co.nz +64-3-343-7868
Dr Rob Davies-Colley Principal Scientist - Water Quality Rob.Davies-Colley@niwa.co.nz +64-7-856-1725
Mary de Winton Freshwater Ecologist Mary.deWinton@niwa.co.nz +64-7-856-1797
Ralph Dickson Environmental Monitoring Technician Ralph.Dickson@niwa.co.nz +64-3-545-7733
Dr Jan Diettrich Software Developer Jan.Diettrich@niwa.co.nz +64-3-343-8076
Maurice Duncan Hydrologist Maurice.Duncan@niwa.co.nz +64-3-343-7863
Dr Sandy Elliott Principal Scientist - Catchment Processes Sandy.Elliott@niwa.co.nz +64-7-859-1839
Mark Fenwick Marine Ecology Technician Mark.Fenwick@niwa.co.nz +64-4-386-0804
Dr Paul Franklin Freshwater Ecologist Paul.Franklin@niwa.co.nz +64-7-859-1882
Dr Jennifer Gadd Aquatic Chemist Jennifer.Gadd@niwa.co.nz +64-9-375-2058
Dr Eleanor Gee Freshwater Hydro-Ecologist Eleanor.Gee@niwa.co.nz +64-7-856-1710
Dr Max Gibbs Water Quality Scientist Max.Gibbs@niwa.co.nz +64-7-856-1773
Dr Brandon Goeller Riparian and Wetland Scientist Brandon.Goeller@niwa.co.nz +64-7-838-8361
Dr Elizabeth Graham Freshwater Ecologist Elizabeth.Graham@niwa.co.nz +64-7-856-1752
Dr James Griffiths Hydrologist James.Griffiths@niwa.co.nz +64-3-343-7858
Dr George Griffiths Principal Scientist - Hydrology George.Griffiths@niwa.co.nz +64-3-343-7841
Dr Arman Haddadchi Sediment Transport Scientist Arman.Haddadchi@niwa.co.nz +64-3-343-7896
Roddy Henderson Hydrologist Roddy.Henderson@niwa.co.nz +64-3-343-7873
Stephan Heubeck Wastewater Energy Engineer Stephan.Heubeck@niwa.co.nz +64-7-856-1766
Dr Chris Hickey Principal Scientist - Ecotoxicology and Environmental Chemistry Chris.Hickey@niwa.co.nz +64-7-856-1713
Dr Murray Hicks Principal Scientist - River and Coastal Geomorphology Murray.Hicks@niwa.co.nz +64-3-343-7872
Dr Deborah Hofstra Freshwater Ecologist Deborah.Hofstra@niwa.co.nz +64-7-859-1812
Dr Clive Howard-Williams Emeritus Scientist Clive.Howard-Williams@niwa.co.nz +64-3-343-7857
Dr Jo Hoyle River Geomorphologist Jo.Hoyle@niwa.co.nz +64-3-343-7810
Dr Neale Hudson Environmental Chemist Neale.Hudson@niwa.co.nz +64-7-856-1772
Dr Andrew Hughes Land and Water Scientist Andrew.Hughes@niwa.co.nz +64-7-856-1794
Christian Hyde Environmental Monitoring Technician Christian.Hyde@niwa.co.nz +64-9-375-4535
Dr Phillip Jellyman Assistant Regional Manager - Christchurch Phillip.Jellyman@niwa.co.nz +64-3-343-8052
Dr Cathy Kilroy Freshwater Ecologist Cathy.Kilroy@niwa.co.nz +64-3-343-7883
Dr Alison Kohout Hydrodynamics Scientist Alison.Kohout@niwa.co.nz +64-3-343-7842
Dr Emily Lane Hydrodynamics Scientist Emily.Lane@niwa.co.nz +64-3-343-7856
Dr Scott Larned Manager - Freshwater Research Scott.Larned@niwa.co.nz +64-3-343-7834
Dr Drew Lohrer Principal Scientist - Marine Ecology Drew.Lohrer@niwa.co.nz +64-7-859-1803
Graeme Mackay Principal Technician - Environmental Monitoring Graeme.Mackay@niwa.co.nz +64-9-432-5502
Mike Martin Principal Technician - Ecotoxicology Mike.Martin@niwa.co.nz +64-7-856-1768
Dr Fleur Matheson Aquatic Biogeochemist Fleur.Matheson@niwa.co.nz +64-7-856-1776
Graham McBride Principal Scientist - Water Quality Graham.McBride@niwa.co.nz +64-7-856-1726
Dr Alistair McKerchar Hydrologist Alistair.McKerchar@niwa.co.nz +64-3-343-7870
Dr Lucy McKergow Land and Water Scientist Lucy.McKergow@niwa.co.nz +64-7-856-1741
Richard Measures Hydrodynamics Scientist Richard.Measures@niwa.co.nz +64-3-343-8066
Juliet Milne Resource Management Scientist Juliet.Milne@niwa.co.nz +64-4-386-0901
Jonathan Moores Urban Aquatic Scientist Jonathan.Moores@niwa.co.nz +64-9-375-2043
Greg Olsen Principal Technician - Environmental Chemistry Greg.Olsen@niwa.co.nz +64-7-856-1781
Dr Chris Palliser Environmental Mathematician Chris.Palliser@niwa.co.nz +64-7-856-1748
Dr Jason Park Wastewater Scientist Jason.Park@niwa.co.nz +64-7-856-1777
Pete Pattinson Environmental Monitoring Technician Pete.Pattinson@niwa.co.nz +64-9-375-2077
George Payne Principal Technician - Water Quality George.Payne@niwa.co.nz +64-7-856-1767
Dr David Plew Hydrodynamics Scientist David.Plew@niwa.co.nz +64-3-343-7801
Darcel Rickard Environmental Research/Science Communication Darcel.Rickard@niwa.co.nz +64-7-859-1869
Dr Helen Rouse Regional Manager - Christchurch and Nelson Helen.Rouse@niwa.co.nz +64-3-343-8037
Dr Dave Rowe Emeritus - Freshwater Ecologist Dave.Rowe@niwa.co.nz +64-7-856-1757
Karl Safi Algal Ecologist Karl.Safi@niwa.co.nz +64-7-856-1716
Dr Annette Semadeni-Davies Urban Aquatic Scientist Annette.Semadeni-Davies@niwa.co.nz +64-9-375-4532
Dr Ude Shankar GIS Specialist Ude.Shankar@niwa.co.nz +64-3-343-7892
Dr Shailesh Singh Hydrologist Shailesh.Singh@niwa.co.nz +64-3-343-8053
Dr Graeme Smart Principal Scientist - Natural Hazards and Hydrodynamics Graeme.Smart@niwa.co.nz +64-3-343-7851
Brian Smith Freshwater Biologist Brian.Smith@niwa.co.nz +64-7-856-1756
Dr Bob Spigel Hydrodynamics Scientist Bob.Spigel@niwa.co.nz +64-3-343-8020
Dr MS Srinivasan Principal Scientist - Catchment Hydrology MS.Srinivasan@niwa.co.nz +64-3-343-8031
Dr Rick Stoffels Freshwater Fisheries Ecologist Rick.Stoffels@niwa.co.nz +64-3-343-7832
Dr Richard Storey Freshwater Ecologist Richard.Storey@niwa.co.nz +64-7-859-1880
Dr Rebecca Stott Environmental Health - Microbiology Scientist Rebecca.Stott@niwa.co.nz +64-7-859-1892
James Sukias Wastewater Scientist James.Sukias@niwa.co.nz +64-7-856-1715
Colin Sutton Fisheries Technician Colin.Sutton@niwa.co.nz +64-3-545-7738
Dr Andrew Swales Coastal and Estuarine Physical Processes Scientist Andrew.Swales@niwa.co.nz +64-7-856-1761
Dr Chris Tanner Principal Scientist - Aquatic Pollution Chris.Tanner@niwa.co.nz +64-7-856-1792
Aleki Taumoepeau Aquatic Biology Technician Aleki.Taumoepeau@niwa.co.nz +64-7-856-1708
Karen Thompson Enviromental Chemistry and Toxicology Technician Karen.Thompson@niwa.co.nz +64-7-859-1895
Dr Amanda Valois Freshwater Ecologist Amanda.Valois@niwa.co.nz +64-7-856-1795
Dr Piet Verburg Lake Scientist Piet.Verburg@niwa.co.nz +64-7-856-1787
Sanjay Wadhwa GIS Analyst Sanjay.Wadhwa@niwa.co.nz +64-7-859-1813
Jeremy Walsh Hydrodynamics Engineer Jeremy.Walsh@niwa.co.nz +64-3-343-7877
Dr Amy Whitehead Freshwater Ecologist Amy.Whitehead@niwa.co.nz +64-3-343-7854
Dr Bob Wilcock Environmental Chemist Bob.Wilcock@niwa.co.nz +64-7-856-1743
Dr Ben Woodward Biogeochemist Ben.Woodward@niwa.co.nz +64-7-856-1754
Dr Sharleen Yalden Environmental Modeller Sharleen.Yalden@niwa.co.nz +64-9-375-2032
Dr Jing Yang Hydrology Scientist Jing.Yang@niwa.co.nz +64-3-343-7840
Richard Yates Environmental Electronics Technician Richard.Yates@niwa.co.nz +64-7-856-1733
Dr Christian Zammit Hydrologist Christian.Zammit@niwa.co.nz +64-3-343-7879