Freshwater and Estuaries key contacts

Contacts for our freshwater and estuaries services.

Real name: 
Dr
John
Quinn
Position: 
Chief Scientist - Freshwater and Estuaries
Phone: 
+64-7-856-1735
Email (displayed): 
John.Quinn@niwa.co.nz
John is a stream ecologist with a BSc Hons from University of Otago and a PhD from Massey University. His research interests include nutrient attenuation within rivers, and understanding and mitigating the effects of forestry and pastoral agricultural land uses and the rehabilitation and restoration of streams and lakes. John has established long-term studies and is interested in integrated approaches involving land and aquatic research and social and biophysical science. He is currently a member of the Technical Leaders Group for the Waikato/Waipa Healthy Rivers Plan Change and co-lead of the Innovative and Resilient Land and Water Management Theme of the Our Land and Water National Science Challenge.
Dr
Christian
Zammit
Position: 
Hydrologist
Phone: 
+64-3-343-7879
Email (displayed): 
Christian.Zammit@niwa.co.nz
Christian is a hydrologist with a MSc in small scale hydrology (University Joseph Fourier- France) and PhD in Soil Physics (University Joseph Fourier- France). His research interests include developing improved methods for making hydrological predictions in ungauged catchments and understanding the spatial variability in hydrological response through measurement, conceptualisation and modelling of surface water and groundwater flow across landscape and temporal scales. 
Real name: 
Mr
Paul
Champion
Position: 
Principal Scientist - Freshwater Ecology
Phone: 
+64-7-856-1796
Email (displayed): 
Paul.Champion@niwa.co.nz
Paul holds a BSc Hons from Leicester University and an MSc in biological sciences from the University of Waikato and has a background in wetland and aquatic plant ecology. He specialises in freshwater biosecurity, especially risk assessment, developing strategies for the prevention of aquatic weed spread and protection of unimpacted water bodies, and designing and implementing eradication programmes for aquatic weeds. He works closely with a wide range of central and regional authorities in the field of biosecurity. He is also author/co-author of three books on the identification of common weeds, grasses, sedges, rushes and weed seeds in New Zealand. He also has experience in wetland ecology and conservation needs and management plans for nationally endangered aquatic and wetland plants. Paul joined NIWA in 1994 and was appointed Programme Leader – Freshwater Biosecurity in July 2015. He has been a Principal Scientist – Freshwater Ecology since 2004. He previously worked with the Ministry of Agriculture and Forestry coordinating eradication programmes for nationally important weeds.
Real name: 
Dr
Chris
Tanner
Position: 
Principal Scientist - Aquatic Pollution
Phone: 
+64-7-856-1792
Email (displayed): 
Chris.Tanner@niwa.co.nz
Chris Tanner is an applied aquatic ecologist with PhD from the University of Waikato. He leads NIWAs Water Quantity and Quality research programme. His current research interests include: ecologically engineered systems (especially constructed wetlands) for treatment of wastewaters, stormwaters and diffuse run-off; impacts and mitigation of contaminants in the aquatic environment; wetland plant ecology and management; water, sanitation and pollution issues and approaches in the Pacific Islands; and managing and contributing to multi-disciplinary and multi-agency problem-solving teams that integrate knowledge from scientific, economic, social and cultural spheres. 
Real name: 
Dr
Sandy
Elliott
Position: 
Principal Scientist - Catchment Processes
Phone: 
+64-7-859-1839
Email (displayed): 
Sandy.Elliott@niwa.co.nz
Sandy Elliott applies mathematical techniques to address water quality issues, especially predicting the effects of diffuse pollution and its control at catchment scale. His background spans from experimental work on transport process in flumes and on hillslopes, to delivering national-scale catchment modelling software, and from urban areas to the coastal impacts. He has developed and modified several catchment models for water quality and applied these in a wide range of settings in New Zealand. His current interests include techniques for shifting across spatial and temporal prediction scales and providing practical catchment models suitable for managing water quality limits.
Real name: 
Dr
Murray
Hicks
Position: 
Principal Scientist - River and Coastal Geomorphology
Phone: 
+64-3-343-7872
Email (displayed): 
Murray.Hicks@niwa.co.nz
Murray specialises in sediment transport and related geomorphic processes in rivers and on coasts. He has a BSc Hons in geology, a BE Hons in civil engineering and a PhD focussing on coastal processes from the University of California. His research interests include river sediment loads and delivery to the coast, organic carbon yields of rivers, braided river processes, gravel coasts, morphodynamic modelling of rivers and shorelines, and using airborne LiDAR and other remote-sensing technologies for measuring river and coastal morphologic change. His current research focuses on the downstream impacts of dams and flow diversions on river morphology and coastal stability. He is also a Group Manager. 
Real name: 
Mr
Andrew
Swales
Position: 
Coastal and Estuarine Physical Processes Scientist
Phone: 
+64-7-856-1761
Email (displayed): 
Andrew.Swales@niwa.co.nz
Andrew specialises in estuarine sedimentology and sediment processes. He has a BSc and MSc (1st Class Hons) from the University of Auckland. His current research interests include the tracing of sources and fate of terrigenous sediments in estuaries. Recent projects include reconstruction of environmental changes using compound specific stable isotope and radioisotope techniques, investigating human impacts on estuarine sedimentation regimes, predicting effects of fine suspended sediments and dissolved substances on estuarine water clarity, and the biophysical processes and feedbacks driving mangrove-forest ecology and biogeomorphic evolution. Andrew applies techniques and understanding gained from research to assist regional councils with integrated catchment-estuary management.

Full Staff List

Position Email Phone (external)
Mrs Anathea Albert Enviromental Chemistry and Toxicology Technician Anathea.Albert@niwa.co.nz +64-7-856-1723
Mrs Jade Arnold Hydrodynamics Technician Jade.Arnold@niwa.co.nz +64-3-343-7852
Dr Cindy Baker Principal Scientist - Freshwater Fish Cindy.Baker@niwa.co.nz +64-7-856-1774
Mr Jochen Bind Hydrodynamics and GIS Technician Jochen.Bind@niwa.co.nz +64-3-343-8021
Ms Kerry Bodmin Wetland Ecologist Kerry.Bodmin@niwa.co.nz +64-7-859-1844
Dr Doug Booker Hydro-ecological Modeller Doug.Booker@niwa.co.nz +64-3-343-7848
Mr David Bremner Coastal and Estuarine Physical Processes Technician David.Bremner@niwa.co.nz +64-7-859-1856
Mrs Helen Brider Algal Ecology Technician Helen.Brider@niwa.co.nz +64-7-859-1878
Ms Tracey Burton Freshwater Ecologist Tracey.Burton@niwa.co.nz +64-7-859-1852
Mr Paul Champion Principal Scientist - Freshwater Ecology Paul.Champion@niwa.co.nz +64-7-856-1796
Dr Sue Clearwater Ecotoxicology Scientist Sue.Clearwater@niwa.co.nz +64-7-859-1835
Dr Daniel Collins Hydrologist Daniel.Collins@niwa.co.nz +64-3-343-8033
Mr Kerry Costley Water Quality Technician Kerry.Costley@niwa.co.nz +64-7-856-1780
Dr Rupert Craggs Principal Scientist - Aquatic Pollution Rupert.Craggs@niwa.co.nz +64-7-859-1807
Ms Glenys Croker Freshwater Ecology Technician Glenys.Croker@niwa.co.nz +64-7-856-1717
Dr Shannan Crow Freshwater Fish Ecologist Shannan.Crow@niwa.co.nz +64-3-343-7868
Dr Rob Davies-Colley Principal Scientist - Water Quality Rob.Davies-Colley@niwa.co.nz +64-7-856-1725
Ms Mary de Winton Freshwater Ecologist Mary.deWinton@niwa.co.nz +64-7-856-1797
Dr Craig Depree Water Quality Scientist Craig.Depree@niwa.co.nz +64-7-856-1750
Mr Ralph Dickson Environmental Monitoring Technician Ralph.Dickson@niwa.co.nz +64-3-545-7733
Dr Jan Diettrich Software Developer Jan.Diettrich@niwa.co.nz +64-3-343-8076
Mr Maurice Duncan Hydrologist Maurice.Duncan@niwa.co.nz +64-3-343-7863
Dr Sandy Elliott Principal Scientist - Catchment Processes Sandy.Elliott@niwa.co.nz +64-7-859-1839
Dr Paul Franklin Freshwater Ecologist Paul.Franklin@niwa.co.nz +64-7-859-1882
Dr Jennifer Gadd Aquatic Chemist Jennifer.Gadd@niwa.co.nz +64-9-375-2058
Dr Max Gibbs Water Quality Scientist Max.Gibbs@niwa.co.nz +64-7-856-1773
Dr George Griffiths Principal Scientist - Hydrology George.Griffiths@niwa.co.nz +64-3-343-7841
Dr Stuart Hanchet Principal Scientist - Fisheries Stuart.Hanchet@niwa.co.nz +64-3-545-7739
Mr Roddy Henderson Hydrologist Roddy.Henderson@niwa.co.nz +64-3-343-7873
Mr Stephan Heubeck Wastewater Energy Engineer Stephan.Heubeck@niwa.co.nz +64-7-856-1766
Dr Chris Hickey Principal Scientist - Ecotoxicology and Environmental Chemistry Chris.Hickey@niwa.co.nz +64-7-856-1713
Dr Murray Hicks Principal Scientist - River and Coastal Geomorphology Murray.Hicks@niwa.co.nz +64-3-343-7872
Dr Deborah Hofstra Freshwater Ecologist Deborah.Hofstra@niwa.co.nz +64-7-859-1812
Dr Clive Howard... Chief Science Advisor Clive.Howard-Williams@niwa.co.nz +64-3-343-7857
Dr Jo Hoyle River Geomorphologist Jo.Hoyle@niwa.co.nz +64-3-343-7810
Dr Neale Hudson Environmental Chemist Neale.Hudson@niwa.co.nz +64-7-856-1772
Dr Andrew Hughes Land and Water Scientist Andrew.Hughes@niwa.co.nz +64-7-856-1794
Mr Christian Hyde Environmental Monitoring Technician Christian.Hyde@niwa.co.nz +64-9-375-4535
Dr Cathy Kilroy Freshwater Ecologist Cathy.Kilroy@niwa.co.nz +64-3-343-7883
Dr Alison Kohout Hydrodynamics Scientist Alison.Kohout@niwa.co.nz +64-3-343-7842
Dr Emily Lane Hydrodynamics Scientist Emily.Lane@niwa.co.nz +64-3-343-7856
Dr Scott Larned Manager - Freshwater Research Scott.Larned@niwa.co.nz +64-3-343-7834
Mr Graeme Mackay Principal Technician - Environmental Monitoring Graeme.Mackay@niwa.co.nz +64-9-432-5502
Mr Mike Martin Principal Technician - Ecotoxicology Mike.Martin@niwa.co.nz +64-7-856-1768
Dr Fleur Matheson Aquatic Biogeochemist Fleur.Matheson@niwa.co.nz +64-7-856-1776
Mr Graham McBride Principal Scientist - Water Quality Graham.McBride@niwa.co.nz +64-7-856-1726
Dr Alistair McK... Hydrologist Alistair.McKerchar@niwa.co.nz +64-3-343-7870
Dr Lucy McKergow Land and Water Scientist Lucy.McKergow@niwa.co.nz +64-7-856-1741
Ms Juliet Milne Resource Management Scientist Juliet.Milne@niwa.co.nz +64-4-386-0901
Mr Jonathan Moores Urban Aquatic Scientist Jonathan.Moores@niwa.co.nz +64-9-375-2043
Mr Greg Olsen Principal Technician - Environmental Chemistry Greg.Olsen@niwa.co.nz +64-7-856-1781
Dr Chris Palliser Catchment Modeller Chris.Palliser@niwa.co.nz +64-7-856-1748
Dr Jason Park Wastewater Scientist Jason.Park@niwa.co.nz +64-7-856-1777
Mr Pete Pattinson Environmental Monitoring Technician Pete.Pattinson@niwa.co.nz +64-9-375-2077
Mr George Payne Principal Technician - Water Quality George.Payne@niwa.co.nz +64-7-856-1767
Dr David Plew Hydrodynamics Scientist David.Plew@niwa.co.nz +64-3-343-7801
Dr John Quinn Chief Scientist - Freshwater and Estuaries John.Quinn@niwa.co.nz +64-7-856-1735
Dr Helen Rouse Regional Manager - Christchurch Helen.Rouse@niwa.co.nz +64-3-343-8037
Dr Dave Rowe Emeritus - Freshwater Ecologist Dave.Rowe@niwa.co.nz +64-7-856-1757
Mr Karl Safi Algal Ecologist Karl.Safi@niwa.co.nz +64-7-856-1716
Dr Annette Semadeni-Davies Urban Aquatic Scientist Annette.Semadeni-Davies@niwa.co.nz +64-9-375-4532
Dr Ude Shankar GIS Specialist Ude.Shankar@niwa.co.nz +64-3-343-7892
Dr Shailesh Singh Hydrologist Shailesh.Singh@niwa.co.nz +64-3-343-8053
Dr Graeme Smart Principal Scientist - Natural Hazards and Hydrodynamics Graeme.Smart@niwa.co.nz +64-3-343-7851
Mr Brian Smith Freshwater Biologist Brian.Smith@niwa.co.nz +64-7-856-1756
Dr Bob Spigel Hydrodynamics Scientist Bob.Spigel@niwa.co.nz +64-3-343-8020
Dr MS Srinivasan Hydrologist MS.Srinivasan@niwa.co.nz +64-3-343-8031
Mr Michael Stevenson Fisheries Technician Michael.Stevenson@niwa.co.nz +64-3-545-7732
Dr Richard Storey Freshwater Ecologist Richard.Storey@niwa.co.nz +64-7-859-1880
Dr Rebecca Stott Environmental Health - Microbiology Scientist Rebecca.Stott@niwa.co.nz +64-7-859-1892
Mr James Sukias Wastewater Scientist James.Sukias@niwa.co.nz +64-7-856-1715
Mr Colin Sutton Fisheries Technician Colin.Sutton@niwa.co.nz +64-3-545-7738
Mr Andrew Swales Coastal and Estuarine Physical Processes Scientist Andrew.Swales@niwa.co.nz +64-7-856-1761
Dr Chris Tanner Principal Scientist - Aquatic Pollution Chris.Tanner@niwa.co.nz +64-7-856-1792
Mr Aleki Taumoepeau Aquatic Biology Technician Aleki.Taumoepeau@niwa.co.nz +64-7-856-1708
Mrs Karen Thompson Enviromental Chemistry and Toxicology Technician Karen.Thompson@niwa.co.nz +64-7-859-1895
Dr Amanda Valois Freshwater Ecologist Amanda.Valois@niwa.co.nz +64-7-856-1795
Dr Piet Verburg Lake Scientist Piet.Verburg@niwa.co.nz +64-7-856-1787
Mr Sanjay Wadhwa GIS Analyst Sanjay.Wadhwa@niwa.co.nz +64-7-859-1813
Mr Jeremy Walsh Hydrodynamics Engineer Jeremy.Walsh@niwa.co.nz +64-3-343-7877
Mr Rohan Wells Freshwater Ecologist Rohan.Wells@niwa.co.nz +64-7-856-1753
Dr Bob Wilcock Environmental Chemist Bob.Wilcock@niwa.co.nz +64-7-856-1743
Dr Sharleen Yalden Environmental Modeller Sharleen.Yalden@niwa.co.nz +64-9-375-2032
Dr Jing Yang Hydrology Scientist Jing.Yang@niwa.co.nz +64-3-343-7840
Ms Charlotte Yates Aquatic Pollution Technician Charlotte.Yates@niwa.co.nz
Mr Richard Yates Environmental Electronics Technician Richard.Yates@niwa.co.nz +64-7-856-1733
Dr Christian Zammit Hydrologist Christian.Zammit@niwa.co.nz +64-3-343-7879