Atmosphere key contacts

Find contacts for expertise in New Zealand's atmospheric composition, greenhouse gases and air quality.

Real name: 
Dr
Ian
Longley
Position: 
Air Quality Scientist
Phone: 
+64-9-375-2096
Email (displayed): 
Ian.Longley@niwa.co.nz
Ian leads the Atmospheric Environment, Health and Society programme. He has worked in air quality research at NIWA since 2007 before which he conducted research in aerosol micrometeorology at the University of Manchester. Ian is a specialist in air pollution exposure science and the air quality impact of the built environment. 
Real name: 
Dr
Cliff
Law
Position: 
Principal Scientist-Marine Biogeochemistry
Phone: 
+64-4-386-0478
Email (displayed): 
Cliff.Law@niwa.co.nz
Cliff coordinates the Ocean-Atmosphere Research and advises the Chief Scientists of the Coast and Oceans, Atmosphere and Climate Centres. He currently contributes to international policy development on ocean fertilisation via the London Convention and national perspectives on ocean fertilisation and acidification via the NZ government Ocean Fertilisation stakeholder group and the NZ Royal Society. He is also a member of the Scientific Steering Committee for the IGBP program SOLAS (Surface Ocean Lower Atmosphere Study). His current research interests include trace gas cycling and sources in coastal and open ocean regions, nutrient limitation of phytoplankton and impacts of ocean acidification. 
Real name: 
Dr
Mike
Harvey
Position: 
Principal Scientist - Atmosphere
Phone: 
+64-4-386-0308
Email (displayed): 
Mike.Harvey@niwa.co.nz
Mike leads the research programme into Greenhouse Gas Emissions and Carbon Cycle Science. The programme makes observations at Baring Head and Lauder Global Atmospheric Watch (GAW) sites and a variety of remote platforms including research aircraft, research vessels and at remote Antarctic stations. Mike is an atmospheric scientist with expertise in natural and anthropogenic emissions and the processes transferring materials between the land/ocean and atmosphere. His research interests include nitrous oxide, the marine volatile DMS and natural aerosols. He is a member of the New Zealand IGBP committee and national GAW representative. 
Dr
Olaf
Morgenstern
Position: 
Principal Scientist - Atmosphere and Climate
Phone: 
+64-4-386-0928
Email (displayed): 
Olaf.Morgenstern@niwa.co.nz
Olaf holds a PhD in meteorology and worked in the UK and Germany on the development of atmospheric chemistry and chemistry-climate models. He is leading the New Zealand Regional Atmosphere Programme, which focusses on making high-quality measurements of atmospheric composition and radiation at Lauder, Baring Head, and Arrival Heights (Antarctica), and on interpreting these measurements, using numerical models, in the contexts of climate change, stratospheric ozone depletion, and tropospheric air pollution. He is an elected member of the International Commission on the Middle Atmosphere (ICMA). 
Real name: 
Dr
Sam
Dean
Position: 
Chief Scientist - Climate, Atmosphere and Hazards
Phone: 
+64-4-386-0368
Email (displayed): 
Sam.Dean@niwa.co.nz
Sam is the Chief Scientist for the Climate and Atmosphere Centre. He is an expert on using climate models to understand the drivers of climate variability in New Zealand and Antarctica, and in particular human-induced climate change. His research has been able to identify the contribution of human-induced warming to intensifying current New Zealand weather extremes, including droughts and floods. Recently he has been part of a team investigating the interactions between Antarctic sea-ice, atmospheric circulation and the Southern Ocean. He joined NIWA in 2006 and commenced his current role as Chief Scientist in 2015.

Full Staff List

Position Email Phone (external)
Mr Gordon Brailsford Principal Technician - Atmosphere Gordon.Brailsford@niwa.co.nz +64-4-386-0393
Mr Tony Bromley Principal Technician - Atmosphere Tony.Bromley@niwa.co.nz +64-4-386-0340
Ms Zoe Buxton Atmospheric Technician Zoe.Buxton@niwa.co.nz +64-4-386-0897
Dr Guy Coulson Air Quality Scientist Guy.Coulson@niwa.co.nz +64-9-375-4503
Dr Kim Currie Marine Chemist Kim.Currie@niwa.co.nz +64-3-479-5249
Dr Sam Dean Chief Scientist - Climate, Atmosphere and Hazards Sam.Dean@niwa.co.nz +64-4-386-0368
Mr Wills Dobson Atmospheric Technician Wills.Dobson@niwa.co.nz +64-3-440-0406
Dr Sam Edwards Instrumentation Scientist Sam.Edwards@niwa.co.nz +64-3-343-7802
Ms Sally Gray Environmental Monitoring Technician Sally.Gray@niwa.co.nz +64-9-375-2078
Dr Mike Harvey Principal Scientist - Atmosphere Mike.Harvey@niwa.co.nz +64-4-386-0308
Mr Michael Kotkamp Atmospheric Technician Michael.Kotkamp@niwa.co.nz +64-3-440-0434
Dr Cliff Law Principal Scientist-Marine Biogeochemistry Cliff.Law@niwa.co.nz +64-4-386-0478
Mr Ben Liley Atmospheric Scientist Ben.Liley@niwa.co.nz +64-3-440-0427
Dr Ian Longley Air Quality Scientist Ian.Longley@niwa.co.nz +64-9-375-2096
Mr Andrew Marriner Ocean-Atmosphere Technician Andrew.Marriner@niwa.co.nz +64-4-386-0919
Mr Ross Martin Principal Technician - Atmosphere Ross.Martin@niwa.co.nz +64-4-386-0384
Dr John McGregor Ocean-Atmosphere Physicist John.McGregor@niwa.co.nz +64-4-386-0475
Dr Richard McKenzie Emeritus Researcher – Atmospheric Radiation Richard.McKenzie@niwa.co.nz +64-3-440-0429
Dr Sara Mikalof... Atmosphere-Ocean Scientist Sara.Mikaloff-Fletcher@niwa.co.nz +64-4-386-0924
Dr Olaf Morgenstern Principal Scientist - Atmosphere and Climate Olaf.Morgenstern@niwa.co.nz +64-4-386-0928
Ms Rowena Moss Principal Technician - Atmosphere Rowena.Moss@niwa.co.nz +64-4-386-0534
Ms Sylvia Nichol Atmospheric Scientist Sylvia.Nichol@niwa.co.nz +64-4-386-0396
Mr Gustavo Olivares Air Quality Scientist Gustavo.Olivares@niwa.co.nz +64-9-375-2082
Mr Dave Pollard Atmospheric Scientist Dave.Pollard@niwa.co.nz +64-3-440-0402
Dr Richard Querel Atmospheric Scientist Richard.Querel@niwa.co.nz +64-3-440-0400
Mr John Robinson Principal Technician - Atmosphere John.Robinson@niwa.co.nz +64-3-440-0433
Dr Hinrich schaefer Atmospheric Scientist Hinrich.schaefer@niwa.co.nz +64-4-386-0399
Ms Hisako Shiona Atmospheric Technician Hisako.Shiona@niwa.co.nz +64-3-343-7860
Mr Dan Smale Principal Technician - Atmosphere Dan.Smale@niwa.co.nz +64-3-440-0424
Dr Murray Smith Ocean-Atmosphere Physicist Murray.Smith@niwa.co.nz +64-4-386-0477
Dr Elizabeth So... Air Quality Scientist Elizabeth.Somervell@niwa.co.nz +64-9-375-2038
Dr Peter Sperlich Atmospheric Scientist Peter.Sperlich@niwa.co.nz +6443860855
Mr Alan Thomas Principal Technician - Atmosphere Alan.Thomas@niwa.co.nz +64-3-440-0438
David Weller PhD Student David.Weller@niwa.co.nz
Dr Jonny Williams Climate Scientist Jonny.Williams@niwa.co.nz +64-4-386-0303
Dr Guang Zeng Atmospheric Scientist Guang.Zeng@niwa.co.nz +64-4-386-0929