Coasts and Oceans key contacts

Contacts are for our coasts and oceans work.

Real name: 
Dr
Barb
Hayden
Position: 
Chief Scientist -Coasts and Oceans
Phone: 
+64-3-343-7878
Email (displayed): 
Barb.Hayden@niwa.co.nz
Barb holds a PhD in Marine Biology and has a research background in marine biosecurity and in the environmental sustainability of aquaculture. She leads NIWA's aquatic biodiversity and biosecurity research following the retirement of Don Robertson, and is also the Deputy Chair of the Biosecurity Ministerial Advisory Committee. 
Dr
Geoffroy
Lamarche
Position: 
Principal Scientist - Marine Geology
Phone: 
+64-4-386-0465
Email (displayed): 
Geoffroy.Lamarche@niwa.co.nz
Geoffroy obtained a PhD in geology and geophysics from the university of Grenoble in 1987. He has since focussed his research on the geological processes that affect the ocean floor around New Zealand and in the South West Pacific region, with the aim to improve the understanding of natural geological hazards; identify, quantify and characterise sub-seafloor geological resources; assess the impact of seafloor resource extraction on the marine environment and develop predictive geophysical methods to map submarine substrate and habitats. He has led many oceanographic voyages and international research projects with France, the UK, Australia and the USA. 
Real name: 
Dr
Malcolm
Clark
Position: 
Principal Scientist - Fisheries
Phone: 
+64-4-386-0523
Email (displayed): 
Malcolm.Clark@niwa.co.nz
Malcolm began his research career in the 1980s as a fisheries biologist. He worked extensively on stock assessment of deepwater fish (in particular orange roughy), before broadening his research interests to more general deep-sea ecosystems. He studied seamounts for many years, and headed the Census of Marine Life on Seamounts, a major 6 year international research programme. His studies have involved a lot of time at sea; with over 70 surveys, including submersible dives, and international work in the Antarctic and southwest Pacific. Currently he leads NIWA research projects describing the biodiversity of deep-sea habitats, assessing ecological risk to these habitats and communities from fishing and mining activities, and ways to improve the management of environmental impacts. 
Real name: 
Dr
Wendy
Nelson
Position: 
Principal Scientist - Marine Biology
Phone: 
+64-4-386-0600
Email (displayed): 
Wendy.Nelson@niwa.co.nz
Wendy Nelson specialises in marine phycology, particularly the biosystematics of macroalgae of New Zealand, with research on floristics, evolution and phylogeny, as well as ecology, and life history studies. Recently she has worked on the systematics and biology of red algae including corallines, distribution and diversity of seaweeds in harbours and soft sediment habitats, and seaweeds of the Ross Sea and Balleny Islands. Wendy leads NIWA's biosystematic research team. 
Real name: 
Dr
Judi
Hewitt
Position: 
Principal Scientist - Marine Ecology
Phone: 
+64-7-856-1751
Email (displayed): 
Judi.Hewitt@niwa.co.nz
Judi is a soft-sediment benthic ecologist, with a statistical background and a PhD from Abo Akademi in Finland. She has worked mainly on issues of scale, study design and merging ecological theory with empirical observations. Her interests include: Coastal and estuarine marine ecology; Biological and ecological mapping; Spatial and temporal variation in populations and communities; Ecological impact assessment, particularly of diffuse source and/or broad-scale effects; Design and implementation of ecological monitoring programmes; and Functional, community and habitat biodiversity. 
Real name: 
Dr
Graeme
Inglis
Position: 
Principal Scientist - Marine Ecology
Phone: 
+64-3-343-8036
Email (displayed): 
Graeme.Inglis@niwa.co.nz
Graeme leads NIWA's Marine Biosecurity research programme, which is a partnership involving NIWA, the Cawthron Institute, and the Ministry for Primary Industries. He is a member of the IUCN Invasive Species Specialist Group, a Technical Advisor to the GEF/UNDP/IMO Global Ballast Water Management Programme and sits on advisory panels for implementation of New Zealand's Biosecurity Science Strategy and MAF Biosecurity NZ's Biosecurity Surveillance Committee. Graeme's research is primarily on the design and implementation of marine pest surveillance, including early detection, baseline and delimiting surveys for unwanted marine organisms. 

Full Staff List

Position Email Phone (external)
Dr Tara Anderson Marine Ecologist Tara.Anderson@niwa.co.nz +64-3-545-7746
Dr Philip Barnes Principal Scientist - Marine Geology Philip.Barnes@niwa.co.nz +64-4-386-0372
Dr Rob Bell Principal Scientist - Coastal and Estuarine Physical Processes Rob.Bell@niwa.co.nz +64-7-856-1742
Mr Jochen Bind Hydrodynamics and GIS Technician Jochen.Bind@niwa.co.nz +64-3-343-8021
Miss Rachel Boschen PhD Student Rachel.Boschen@niwa.co.nz +64-4-386-0469
Dr Helen Bostock Marine Geologist Helen.Bostock@niwa.co.nz +64-4-386-0371
Dr David Bowden Marine Ecologist David.Bowden@niwa.co.nz +64-4-386-0914
Dr Janet Bradfo... Emeritus Researcher – Marine Biology janet.grieve@niwa.co.nz +64-4-386-0362
Mr David Bremner Coastal and Estuarine Physical Processes Technician David.Bremner@niwa.co.nz +64-7-859-1856
Mr Mike Brewer Moorings Technician Mike.Brewer@niwa.co.nz +64-4-386-0373
Dr Niall Broekhuizen Ecosystem Modeller Niall.Broekhuizen@niwa.co.nz +64-7-856-1798
Dr Stephen Brown Marine Ecologist Stephen.Brown@niwa.co.nz +64-3-545-7741
Ms Julie Brown Mass Spectrometry Technician Julie.Brown@niwa.co.nz +64-4-386-0576
Mr Rod Budd Principal Technician - Coastal and Estuarine Physical Processes Rod.Budd@niwa.co.nz +64-7-856-1718
Dr Sarah Bury Marine Ecologist Sarah.Bury@niwa.co.nz +64-4-386-0347
Miss Kelly Carter Marine Ecology Technician Kelly.Carter@niwa.co.nz +64-7-856-1722
Ms Katie Cartner Marine Ecology Technician Katie.Cartner@niwa.co.nz +64-7-859-1810
Dr Hoe Chang Emeritus - Marine Biologist Hoe.Chang@niwa.co.nz +64-4-386-0360
Dr Steve Chiswell Physical Oceanographer Steve.Chiswell@niwa.co.nz +64-4-386-0351
Dr Malcolm Clark Principal Scientist - Fisheries Malcolm.Clark@niwa.co.nz +64-4-386-0523
Dr Vonda Cummings Marine Ecologist Vonda.Cummings@niwa.co.nz +64-4-386-0602
Dr Roberta D'Archino Marine Biologist roberta.darchino@niwa.co.nz +64-4-382-1627
Mrs Niki Davey Marine Ecologist Niki.Davey@niwa.co.nz +64-3-545-7736
Mr Scott Edhouse Marine Ecology Technician Scott.Edhouse@niwa.co.nz +64-7-859-1834
Ms Fiona Elliott Marine Physics Technician Fiona.Elliott@niwa.co.nz +64-4-386-0470
Mr Mark Fenwick Marine Ecology Technician Mark.Fenwick@niwa.co.nz +64-4-386-0804
Mr Jeff Forman Fisheries Technician Jeff.Forman@niwa.co.nz +64-4-386-0802
Dr Malcolm Francis Principal Scientist - Fisheries Malcolm.Francis@niwa.co.nz +64-4-386-0377
Mr Peter Gerring Marine Geology Technician Peter.Gerring@niwa.co.nz +64-4-386-0503
Dr Dennis Gordon Emeritus Researcher – Marine Biodiversity Dennis.Gordon@niwa.co.nz +64-4-386-0388
Dr Richard Gorman Coastal and Estuarine Physical Processes Scientist Richard.Gorman@niwa.co.nz +64-7-856-1736
Dr Brittany Graham Marine Ecologist Brittany.Graham@niwa.co.nz +64-4-386-0516
Mr Brett Grant Marine Physics Technician Brett.Grant@niwa.co.nz +64-4-386-0329
Mr Barry Greenfield Marine Ecology Technician Barry.Greenfield@niwa.co.nz +64-7-859-1875
Ms Lynda Griggs Fisheries Scientist Lynda.Griggs@niwa.co.nz +64-4-386-0485
Dr Mark Hadfield Marine Physics Modeller Mark.Hadfield@niwa.co.nz +64-4-386-0363
Miss Sarah Hailes Marine Ecology Technician Sarah.Hailes@niwa.co.nz +64-7-859-1862
Ms Jane Halliday Marine Ecology Technician Jane.Halliday@niwa.co.nz +64-4-382-1620
Dr Sean Handley Marine Biologist Sean.Handley@niwa.co.nz +64-3-545-7735
Dr Barb Hayden Chief Scientist -Coasts and Oceans Barb.Hayden@niwa.co.nz +64-3-343-7878
Dr Judi Hewitt Principal Scientist - Marine Ecology Judi.Hewitt@niwa.co.nz +64-7-856-1751
Dr Chris Hickey Principal Scientist - Ecotoxicology and Environmental Chemistry Chris.Hickey@niwa.co.nz +64-7-856-1713
Dr Murray Hicks Principal Scientist - River and Coastal Geomorphology Murray.Hicks@niwa.co.nz +64-3-343-7872
Dr Jo Hoyle River Geomorphologist Jo.Hoyle@niwa.co.nz +64-3-343-7810
Mrs Debbie Hulston Principal Technician - Microbial Ecology Debbie.Hulston@niwa.co.nz +64-4-386-0593
Dr Graeme Inglis Principal Scientist - Marine Ecology Graeme.Inglis@niwa.co.nz +64-3-343-8036
Dr Michelle Kelly Marine Biologist Michelle.Kelly@niwa.co.nz +64-9-375-2037
Dr Anna Kilimnik Mass Spectrometry Technician Anna.Kilimnik@niwa.co.nz +64-4-386-0918
Casper Kraan Post Doctoral Fellow Casper.Kraan@niwa.co.nz +64-7-859-1876
Dr Geoffroy Lamarche Principal Scientist - Marine Geology Geoffroy.Lamarche@niwa.co.nz +64-4-386-0465
Dr Daniel Leduc Marine Biologist Daniel.Leduc@niwa.co.nz +64-4-386-0379
Dr Drew Lohrer Principal Scientist - Marine Ecology Drew.Lohrer@niwa.co.nz +64-7-859-1803
Dr Carolyn Lundquist Principal Scientist - Marine Ecology Carolyn.Lundquist@niwa.co.nz +64-7-859-1866
Els Maas Microbiologist Els.Maas@niwa.co.nz +64-4-386-0539
Dr Alison MacDiarmid Regional Manager - Wellington Alison.MacDiarmid@niwa.co.nz +64-4-386-0370
Dr Iain MacDonald Coastal and Estuarine Physical Processes Scientist Iain.MacDonald@niwa.co.nz +64-7-859-1818
Mr Kevin Mackay Principal Technician - Marine Geology Kevin.Mackay@niwa.co.nz +64-4-386-0479
Dr Alistair McK... Hydrologist Alistair.McKerchar@niwa.co.nz +64-3-343-7870
Mr Keith Michael Fisheries Scientist Keith.Michael@niwa.co.nz +64-4-386-0586
Mr Crispin Middleton Principal Technician - Marine Ecology Crispin.Middleton@niwa.co.nz +64-9-432-5504
Ms Sadie Mills Marine Biology Technician Sadie.Mills@niwa.co.nz +64-4-386-0464
Mr John Mitchell Marine Geologist John.Mitchell@niwa.co.nz +64-4-386-0374
Dr Joshu Mountjoy Marine Geologist Joshu.Mountjoy@niwa.co.nz +64-4-386-0336
Mr Reyn Naylor Fisheries Scientist Reyn.Naylor@niwa.co.nz +64-4-386-0827
Dr Helen Neil National Projects Manager Helen.Neil@niwa.co.nz +64-4-386-0375
Ms Kate Neill Marine Biologist Kate.Neill@niwa.co.nz +64-4-386-0467
Dr Wendy Nelson Principal Scientist - Marine Biology Wendy.Nelson@niwa.co.nz +64-4-386-0600
Dr Scott Nodder Principal Scientist - Marine Geology Scott.Nodder@niwa.co.nz +64-4-386-0357
Ms Lisa Northcote Marine Geology Technician Lisa.Northcote@niwa.co.nz +64-4-386-0380
Mr Peter Notman Principal Technician - Fisheries Peter.Notman@niwa.co.nz +64-4-386-0852
Mr Caoimhghin Ó Maolagáin Fisheries Technician Caoimhghin.OMaolagain@niwa.co.nz +64-4-386-0595
Dr Alan Orpin Marine Geologist Alan.Orpin@niwa.co.nz +64-4-386-0356
Mr Ron Ovenden Coastal and Estuarine Physical Processes Technician Ron.Ovenden@niwa.co.nz +64-7-856-1721
Mr Mike Page Marine Ecologist Mike.Page@niwa.co.nz +64-3-545-7743
Mr Arne Pallentin Principal Technician - Marine Geology Arne.Pallentin@niwa.co.nz +64-4-386-0603
Miss Samantha Parkes Marine Ecology Technician Samantha.Parkes@niwa.co.nz +64-7-859-1858
Dr Mark Pritchard Coastal and Estuarine Physical Processes Scientist Mark.Pritchard@niwa.co.nz +64-7-856-1744
Mr Doug Ramsay Manager, Pacific Rim Doug.Ramsay@niwa.co.nz +64-7-859-1894
Dr Geoff Read Marine Biologist Geoffrey.Read@niwa.co.nz +64-4-386-0321
Dr Graham Rickard Marine Physics Modeller Graham.Rickard@niwa.co.nz +64-4-386-0311
Dr Natalie Robinson Marine Physicist Natalie.Robinson@niwa.co.nz +64-4-382-1619
Dr Ashley Rowden Principal Scientist - Marine Ecology Ashley.Rowden@niwa.co.nz +64-4-386-0334
Dr Kareen Schnabel Marine Biologist Kareen.Schnabel@niwa.co.nz +64-4-386-0862
Miss Kimberley Seaward Marine Ecology Technician Kimberley.Seaward@niwa.co.nz +64-3-343-8063
Dr Ude Shankar GIS Specialist Ude.Shankar@niwa.co.nz +64-3-343-7892
Dr Graeme Smart Principal Scientist - Natural Hazards and Hydrodynamics Graeme.Smart@niwa.co.nz +64-3-343-7851
Mr Matt Smith Principal Technician - Marine Ecology Matt.Smith@niwa.co.nz +64-9-375-2036
Dr Scott Stephens Coastal and Estuarine Physical Processes Scientist Scott.Stephens@niwa.co.nz +64-7-856-1745
Dr Craig Stevens Principal Scientist - Marine Physics Craig.Stevens@niwa.co.nz +64-4-386-0476
Mr Rob Stewart Principal Technician - Marine Ecology Rob.Stewart@niwa.co.nz +64-4-386-0359
Mr Dean Stotter Marine Biology Technician Dean.Stotter@niwa.co.nz +64-4-386-0310
Mr Andrew Swales Coastal and Estuarine Physical Processes Scientist Andrew.Swales@niwa.co.nz +64-7-856-1761
Dr David Thompson Seabird Ecologist David.Thompson@niwa.co.nz +64-4-386-0582
Dr Leigh Torres Marine Ecologist Leigh.Torres@niwa.co.nz +64-4-382-1628
Dr Michael Townsend Marine Ecologist Michael.Townsend@niwa.co.nz +64-7-856-1789
Mr Matt Walkington Principal Technician - Oceanographic Systems Matt.Walkington@niwa.co.nz +64-4-386-0325
Mr Jeremy Walsh Hydrodynamics Engineer Jeremy.Walsh@niwa.co.nz +64-3-343-7877
Dr Dong Wang Environmental Modeller Dong.Wang@niwa.co.nz +64-3-343-8056
Mr Steve Wilcox Principal Technician - Marine Geology Steve.Wilcox@niwa.co.nz +64-4-386-0387
Dr Serena Wilkens Marine Biologist Serena.Wilkens@niwa.co.nz +64-4-386-0364

Pages