Coasts and Oceans key contacts

Contacts are for our coasts and oceans work.

Position: 
Chief Scientist -Coasts and Oceans
Phone: 
+64-3-343-7878
Email: 
Barb.Hayden@niwa.co.nz
Barb has a research background in marine biosecurity and the environmental sustainability of aquaculture. Today she leads NIWA’s coasts and oceans research, which focuses on ecosystem-based approaches to managing activities in New Zealand’s marine estate, so that economic and social benefits are realised while vulnerable components of the ecosystem are protected.
Position: 
Principal Scientist - Marine Geology
Phone: 
+64-4-386-0465
Email: 
Geoffroy.Lamarche@niwa.co.nz
Geoffroy obtained a PhD in geology and geophysics from the university of Grenoble in 1987. He has since focussed his research on the geological processes that affect the ocean floor around New Zealand and in the South West Pacific region, with the aim to improve the understanding of natural geological hazards; identify, quantify and characterise sub-seafloor geological resources; assess the impact of seafloor resource extraction on the marine environment and develop predictive geophysical methods to map submarine substrate and habitats. He has led many oceanographic voyages and international research projects with France, the UK, Australia and the USA. 
Position: 
Principal Scientist - Fisheries
Phone: 
+64-4-386-0523
Email: 
Malcolm.Clark@niwa.co.nz
Malcolm began his research career in the 1980s as a fisheries biologist. He worked extensively on stock assessment of deepwater fish (in particular orange roughy), before broadening his research interests to more general deep-sea ecosystems. He studied seamounts for many years, and headed the Census of Marine Life on Seamounts, a major 6 year international research programme. His studies have involved a lot of time at sea; with over 70 surveys, including submersible dives, and international work in the Antarctic and southwest Pacific. Currently he leads NIWA research projects describing the biodiversity of deep-sea habitats, assessing ecological risk to these habitats and communities from fishing and mining activities, and ways to improve the management of environmental impacts. Malcolm gained his PhD from Victoria University of Wellington in 1982, and since then has specialised in the biology and ecology of deepwater fish and fisheries, particularly orange roughy. He has extensive seagoing experience with over 70 voyages. Recently he has worked largely on international fisheries and helped develop the FAO guidelines on deep-sea fishing in the high seas. Malcolm currently heads NIWA research programmes on deep sea communities, impacts from fishing and mining, and developing risk assessment methods for New Zealand deepwater fisheries. 
Position: 
Principal Scientist - Marine Biology
Phone: 
+64-4-386-0600
Email: 
Wendy.Nelson@niwa.co.nz
Wendy Nelson specialises in marine phycology, particularly the biosystematics of macroalgae of New Zealand, with research on floristics, evolution and phylogeny, as well as ecology, and life history studies. Recently she has worked on the systematics and biology of red algae including corallines, distribution and diversity of seaweeds in harbours and soft sediment habitats, and seaweeds of the Ross Sea and Balleny Islands. Wendy leads NIWA's biosystematic research team.
Position: 
Principal Scientist - Marine Ecology
Phone: 
+64-7-856-1751
Email: 
Judi.Hewitt@niwa.co.nz
Judi is a soft-sediment benthic ecologist, with a statistical background and a PhD from Abo Akademi in Finland. She has worked mainly on issues of scale, study design and merging ecological theory with empirical observations. Her interests include: Coastal and estuarine marine ecology; Biological and ecological mapping; Spatial and temporal variation in populations and communities; Ecological impact assessment, particularly of diffuse source and/or broad-scale effects; Design and implementation of ecological monitoring programmes; and Functional, community and habitat biodiversity.
Position: 
Principal Scientist - Marine Ecology
Phone: 
+64-3-343-8036
Email: 
Graeme.Inglis@niwa.co.nz
Graeme leads NIWA's Marine Biosecurity research programme, which is a partnership involving NIWA, the Cawthron Institute, and the Ministry for Primary Industries. He is a member of the IUCN Invasive Species Specialist Group, a Technical Advisor to the GEF/UNDP/IMO Global Ballast Water Management Programme and sits on advisory panels for implementation of New Zealand's Biosecurity Science Strategy and MAF Biosecurity NZ's Biosecurity Surveillance Committee. Graeme's research is primarily on the design and implementation of marine pest surveillance, including early detection, baseline and delimiting surveys for unwanted marine organisms. 

Full Staff List

Position Email Phone (external)
Dr Tara Anderson Marine Ecologist Tara.Anderson@niwa.co.nz +64-4-386-0820
Dr Philip Barnes Principal Scientist - Marine Geology Philip.Barnes@niwa.co.nz +64-4-386-0372
Dr Erik Behrens Ocean Modeller Erik.Behrens@niwa.co.nz +64-4-386-0890
Dr Jaret Bilewitch Molecular Technician Jaret.Bilewitch@niwa.co.nz +64-4-386-0502
Jochen Bind Hydrodynamics and GIS Technician Jochen.Bind@niwa.co.nz +64-3-343-8021
Dr Helen Bostock Marine Geologist Helen.Bostock@niwa.co.nz +64-4-386-0371
Dr David Bowden Marine Ecologist David.Bowden@niwa.co.nz +64-4-386-0914
Dr Janet Bradford-Grieve Emeritus Researcher – Marine Biology janet.grieve@niwa.co.nz +64-4-386-0362
David Bremner Coastal and Estuarine Physical Processes Technician David.Bremner@niwa.co.nz +64-7-859-1856
Mike Brewer Moorings Technician Mike.Brewer@niwa.co.nz +64-4-386-0373
Dr Niall Broekhuizen Principal Scientist - Ecosystem Modelling Niall.Broekhuizen@niwa.co.nz +64-7-856-1798
Julie Brown Mass Spectrometry Technician Julie.Brown@niwa.co.nz +64-4-386-0576
Rod Budd Principal Technician - Coastal and Estuarine Physical Processes Rod.Budd@niwa.co.nz +64-7-856-1718
Dr Sarah Bury Manager - Environmental Stable Isotope Facility & Marine Biogeochemist Scientist Sarah.Bury@niwa.co.nz +64-4-386-0347
Kelly Carter Marine Ecology Technician Kelly.Carter@niwa.co.nz +64-7-856-1722
Megan Carter Marine Ecology Technician Megan.Carter@niwa.co.nz +64-3-545-7748
Katie Cartner Marine Ecology Technician Katie.Cartner@niwa.co.nz +64-7-859-1810
Dr Hoe Chang Emeritus - Marine Biologist Hoe.Chang@niwa.co.nz +64-4-386-0360
Dr Steve Chiswell Physical Oceanographer Steve.Chiswell@niwa.co.nz +64-4-386-0351
Dr Malcolm Clark Principal Scientist - Fisheries Malcolm.Clark@niwa.co.nz +64-4-386-0523
Dr Serena Cox Marine Biologist Serena.Cox@niwa.co.nz +64-4-386-0364
Dr Vonda Cummings Principal Scientist - Marine Ecology Vonda.Cummings@niwa.co.nz +64-4-386-0602
Dr Roberta D'Archino Marine Biologist roberta.darchino@niwa.co.nz +64-4-382-1627
Niki Davey Marine Ecologist Niki.Davey@niwa.co.nz +64-3-545-7736
Fiona Elliott Marine Physics Technician Fiona.Elliott@niwa.co.nz +64-4-386-0470
Mark Fenwick Marine Ecology Technician Mark.Fenwick@niwa.co.nz +64-4-386-0804
Jeff Forman Fisheries Technician Jeff.Forman@niwa.co.nz +64-4-386-0802
Dr Malcolm Francis Principal Scientist - Fisheries Malcolm.Francis@niwa.co.nz +64-4-386-0377
Peter Gerring Marine Geology Technician Peter.Gerring@niwa.co.nz +64-4-386-0503
Dr Giacomo Giorli Marine Mammal Acoustician Giacomo.Giorli@niwa.co.nz +64-4-386-0538
Dr Dennis Gordon Emeritus Researcher – Marine Biodiversity Dennis.Gordon@niwa.co.nz +64-4-386-0388
Dr Richard Gorman Coastal and Estuarine Physical Processes Scientist Richard.Gorman@niwa.co.nz +64-7-856-1736
Dr Brittany Graham Marine Ecologist Brittany.Graham@niwa.co.nz +64-4-386-0516
Brett Grant Marine Physics Technician Brett.Grant@niwa.co.nz +64-4-386-0329
Barry Greenfield Marine Ecology Technician Barry.Greenfield@niwa.co.nz +64-7-859-1875
Lynda Griggs Fisheries Scientist Lynda.Griggs@niwa.co.nz +64-4-386-0485
Dr Mark Hadfield Marine Physics Modeller Mark.Hadfield@niwa.co.nz +64-4-386-0363
Sarah Hailes Marine Ecology Technician Sarah.Hailes@niwa.co.nz +64-7-859-1862
Jane Halliday Marine Ecology Technician Jane.Halliday@niwa.co.nz +64-4-382-1620
Dr Sean Handley Marine Biologist Sean.Handley@niwa.co.nz +64-3-545-7735
Dr Barb Hayden Chief Scientist -Coasts and Oceans Barb.Hayden@niwa.co.nz +64-3-343-7878
Dr Judi Hewitt Principal Scientist - Marine Ecology Judi.Hewitt@niwa.co.nz +64-7-856-1751
Dr Chris Hickey Principal Scientist - Ecotoxicology and Environmental Chemistry Chris.Hickey@niwa.co.nz +64-7-856-1713
Dr Murray Hicks Principal Scientist - River and Coastal Geomorphology Murray.Hicks@niwa.co.nz +64-3-343-7872
Dr Jo Hoyle River Geomorphologist Jo.Hoyle@niwa.co.nz +64-3-343-7810
Debbie Hulston Principal Technician - Microbial Ecology Debbie.Hulston@niwa.co.nz +64-4-386-0593
Dr Graeme Inglis Principal Scientist - Marine Ecology Graeme.Inglis@niwa.co.nz +64-3-343-8036
Dr Michelle Kelly Marine Biologist Michelle.Kelly@niwa.co.nz +64-9-375-2037
Dr Anna Kilimnik Mass Spectrometry Technician Anna.Kilimnik@niwa.co.nz +64-4-386-0918
Dr Yoann Ladroit Fisheries Acoustics Scientist Yoann.Ladroit@niwa.co.nz +64-4-386-0906
Dr Geoffroy Lamarche Principal Scientist - Marine Geology Geoffroy.Lamarche@niwa.co.nz +64-4-386-0465
Dr Daniel Leduc Marine Biologist Daniel.Leduc@niwa.co.nz +64-4-386-0379
Dr Drew Lohrer Principal Scientist - Marine Ecology Drew.Lohrer@niwa.co.nz +64-7-859-1803
Dr Carolyn Lundquist Principal Scientist - Marine Ecology Carolyn.Lundquist@niwa.co.nz +64-7-859-1866
Dr Alison MacDiarmid Regional Manager - Wellington Alison.MacDiarmid@niwa.co.nz +64-4-386-0370
Dr Iain MacDonald Coastal and Estuarine Physical Processes Scientist Iain.MacDonald@niwa.co.nz +64-7-859-1818
Kevin Mackay Principal Technician - Marine Geology Kevin.Mackay@niwa.co.nz +64-4-386-0479
Dr Alistair McKerchar Hydrologist Alistair.McKerchar@niwa.co.nz +64-3-343-7870
Richard Measures Hydrodynamics Scientist Richard.Measures@niwa.co.nz +64-3-343-8066
Crispin Middleton Principal Technician - Marine Ecology Crispin.Middleton@niwa.co.nz +64-9-432-5504
Andrew Miller Marine Ecology Technician andrew.miller@niwa.co.nz +64-3-343-7887
Sadie Mills Principal Technician - Marine Biology Sadie.Mills@niwa.co.nz +64-4-386-0464
Dr Joshu Mountjoy Marine Geologist Joshu.Mountjoy@niwa.co.nz +64-4-386-0336
Reyn Naylor Fisheries Scientist Reyn.Naylor@niwa.co.nz +64-4-386-0827
Dr Helen Neil General Manager - Operations Helen.Neil@niwa.co.nz +64-4-386-0375
Kate Neill Marine Biologist Kate.Neill@niwa.co.nz +64-4-386-0467
Dr Wendy Nelson Principal Scientist - Marine Biology Wendy.Nelson@niwa.co.nz +64-4-386-0600
Dr Scott Nodder Principal Scientist - Marine Geology Scott.Nodder@niwa.co.nz +64-4-386-0357
Lisa Northcote Marine Geology Technician Lisa.Northcote@niwa.co.nz +64-4-386-0380
Peter Notman Principal Technician - Fisheries Peter.Notman@niwa.co.nz +64-4-386-0852
Caoimhghin Ó Maolagáin Fisheries Technician Caoimhghin.OMaolagain@niwa.co.nz +64-4-386-0595
Dr Alan Orpin Marine Geologist Alan.Orpin@niwa.co.nz +64-4-386-0356
Ron Ovenden Coastal and Estuarine Physical Processes Technician Ron.Ovenden@niwa.co.nz +64-7-856-1721
Mike Page Marine Ecologist Mike.Page@niwa.co.nz +64-3-545-7743
Arne Pallentin Principal Technician - Marine Geology Arne.Pallentin@niwa.co.nz +64-4-386-0603
Samantha Parkes Marine Ecology Technician Samantha.Parkes@niwa.co.nz +64-7-859-1858
Dr Darren Parsons Marine Ecologist Darren.Parsons@niwa.co.nz +64-9-375-4531
Olivia Price Marine Physics Technician Olivia.Price@niwa.co.nz +64-4-386-0345
Dr Mark Pritchard Coastal Modeller Mark.Pritchard@niwa.co.nz +64-7-856-1744
Doug Ramsay Manager, Pacific Rim Doug.Ramsay@niwa.co.nz +64-7-859-1894
Dr Geoff Read Marine Biologist Geoffrey.Read@niwa.co.nz +64-4-386-0321
Dr Graham Rickard Marine Physics Modeller Graham.Rickard@niwa.co.nz +64-4-386-0311
Dr Natalie Robinson Marine Physicist Natalie.Robinson@niwa.co.nz +64-4-382-1619
Dr Helen Rouse Regional Manager - Christchurch and Nelson Helen.Rouse@niwa.co.nz +64-3-343-8037
Dr Ashley Rowden Principal Scientist - Marine Ecology Ashley.Rowden@niwa.co.nz +64-4-386-0334
Karl Safi Algal Ecologist Karl.Safi@niwa.co.nz +64-7-856-1716
Dr Alexandre Schimel Fisheries Acoustics Scientist Alexandre.Schimel@niwa.co.nz +64-4-386-0510
Dr Kareen Schnabel Marine Biologist Kareen.Schnabel@niwa.co.nz +64-4-386-0862
Kimberley Seaward Marine Ecology Technician Kimberley.Seaward@niwa.co.nz +64-3-343-8063
Dr Ude Shankar GIS Specialist Ude.Shankar@niwa.co.nz +64-3-343-7892
Dr Graeme Smart Principal Scientist - Natural Hazards and Hydrodynamics Graeme.Smart@niwa.co.nz +64-3-343-7851
Matt Smith Principal Technician - Marine Ecology Matt.Smith@niwa.co.nz +64-9-375-2036
Dr Tilmann Steinmetz GIS Data Analyst & Administrator Tilmann.Steinmetz@niwa.co.nz +64-4-386-0535
Dr Scott Stephens Coastal and Estuarine Physical Processes Scientist Scott.Stephens@niwa.co.nz +64-7-856-1745
Dr Fabrice Stephenson Marine Ecologist Fabrice.Stephenson@niwa.co.nz +64-7-859-1881
Dr Craig Stevens Principal Scientist - Marine Physics Craig.Stevens@niwa.co.nz +64-4-386-0476
Rob Stewart Principal Technician - Marine Ecology Rob.Stewart@niwa.co.nz +64-4-386-0359
Dean Stotter Marine Biology Technician Dean.Stotter@niwa.co.nz +64-4-386-0310
Dr Judy Sutherland Scientist, Marine Biology Judy.Sutherland@niwa.co.nz +64-4-386-0339
Dr Andrew Swales Coastal and Estuarine Physical Processes Scientist Andrew.Swales@niwa.co.nz +64-7-856-1761

Pages